Intercultural Tour Guide Qualification

When we travel, we leave familiar territory and are faced with new impressions. We visit countries on all continents – but hardly know their rules of the game. How easily, however, can foreign customs and traditions be misunderstood? Or the religious and political conditions in the host countries might make us feel insecure. Local tour guides therefore play an important role as interpreters and facilitators between cultures. They open doors and facilitate intercultural encounters – and thus also a change of perspective which is so often needed in order to learn to understand other living environments.

That’s why the Institute for Tourism and Development has for more than two decades organised “Intercultural Tour Guide Qualification“ seminars. These intercultural seminars are designed for tour operators, travel agents, public institutions of the tourism sector or tour guide associations that would like to improve the competencies of their tour guides. The positive reactions of the participants bear out the successful concept of the Institute for Tourism and Development. The team of trainers already held more than 140 seminars in more than 20 different countries, with more than 2000 tour guides participating. In the past few years demand again increased and additional modules are being developed.

The seminars impart the necessary technical, methodological and social competencies, so that intercultural learning can take place – for everybody involved. The tour guides also learn to better understand the cultural background, personal expectations and behaviour of tourists. Tactfully imparting every day culture of another country is an important task – the study “Tourismus in Entwicklungs- und Schwellenländern“ (“Tourism in developing and newly industrialised countries”) by the Institute for Tourism and Development also confirms this. German tourists expect a lot from their tour guides: 84 percent of the people interviewed would like to get objective and credible information on countries and their people, 72 percent would like their guides to share realities of the host country in a sensitive manner. The study concludes: What tourists notice, experience and learn during their holidays essentially depends on the quality of the tour guiding services.

Intercultural Tour Guide Qualification

Wenn wir auf Reisen sind, verlassen wir oft vertrautes Terrain und werden mit neuen Eindrücken konfrontiert. Wir besuchen Länder auf allen Kontinenten – doch häufig kennen wir deren Spielregeln kaum. Wie schnell aber können fremde Sitten und Gebräuche missverstanden werden, oder religiöse und politische Gegebenheiten des Gastlandes verunsichern uns. Die Reiseleitung vor Ort spielt als Übersetzer und Vermittler zwischen den Kulturen daher eine wichtige Rolle. Sie kann Türen öffnen und interkulturelle Begegnungen ermöglichen – und damit auch den oft so nötigen Perspektivwechsel, um andere Lebenswelten verstehen zu lernen.

Der Studienkreis für Tourismus und Entwicklung e.V. führt daher seit über zwei Jahrzehnten die „Intercultural Tour Guide Qualification“ durch. Die interkulturellen Seminare richten sich an Reiseveranstalter, Touristikagenturen, staatliche Einrichtungen der Tourismuswirtschaft oder Tour Guide Associations, welche die Kompetenz ihrer ReiseführerInnen stärken wollen. Die positive Resonanz der Teilnehmenden bestätigt das erfolgreiche Konzept des Studienkreises, dessen Trainerteam bereits über 140 Seminare in mehr als 20 verschiedenen Ländern durchgeführt hat, an denen über 2.000 ReiseleiterInnen teilgenommen haben. In den vergangenen Jahren ist die Nachfrage noch einmal gestiegen, zusätzliche Module werden entwickelt.

Die Seminare vermitteln die nötigen fachlichen, methodischen und sozialen Kompetenzen, damit interkulturelles Lernen gelingen kann – für alle Beteiligten. Denn auch die ReiseführerInnen lernen die kulturellen Hintergründe, persönlichen Erwartungen und Verhaltensweisen von Touristen besser zu verstehen. Ihnen mit Fingerspitzengefühl die Alltagskultur eines fremden Landes zu vermitteln, ist eine wichtige Aufgabe – das bestätigt auch die Studie „Tourismus in Entwicklungs- und Schwellenländern“ des Studienkreises: Deutsche Urlauber mit Reiseerfahrung in Entwicklungsländern haben hohe Erwartungen an ihre Reiseleitung – 84 Prozent der Befragten wünschen sich objektive und glaubwürdige Informationen über Land und Leute, 72 Prozent eine einfühlsame Vermittlung der Realitäten des Gastlandes. Das Fazit der Studie: Was Touristen im Urlaub wahrnehmen, erleben und lernen, hängt maßgeblich von der Qualität der Reiseleitung ab.